Assembly of Higher Education


The AAFCS Assembly of Higher Education (AHE) provides leadership for examining issues and changes that affect the family and consumer sciences profession in higher education. The AHE has representation on the AAFCS Leadership Council and also meets annually at the AAFCS Annual Conference & Expo.

Beginning in spring of 2017, baccalaureate graduates of AHE institutions were eligible for a special complimentary, professional membership from AAFCS.

Annual Membership Fees

Membership fees are based on the number of undergraduate degrees conferred annually. Membership in AHE operates on a calendar year basis (January 1 - December 31).  The current rates are listed below:

Number of Undergraduate Degrees Awarded during Previous Academic Year Annual Fee for AAFCS Non-Accredited Units
1- 20 degrees $390
21 - 50 degrees $535
51 - 90 degrees $820
91 - 150 degrees $1,390
151 + degrees $1,675

If you are interested in joining AHE, please email


Membership in the Assembly of Higher Education is available for AAFCS-accredited programs and non AAFCS-accredited units. The unit can be defined as a college, school, division, department, or other institutional entity that prepares students for the family and consumer sciences profession. The Unit must be identified clearly in the institution's catalog(s), bulletins, and other public information documents.

Special Benefit for AHE members:  New baccalaureate graduates of AHE institutions are eligible for their first year of AAFCS professional membership free! Learn more about this incentive, here.

Click on the buttons below to identify accredited and non-accredited members by region.

Executive Committee

The following individuals currently serve on the 2023 - 2024 AHE Executive Committee.  

Martha Ravola

Dr. Martha Ravola, Chair

Alcorn State University

Department of Human Sciences

Amy Yates

Dr. Amy Yates, 1st Vice Chair

Louisiana Tech University

School of Human Ecology

Dr. Devona Dixon, 2nd Vice Chair

North Carolina A & T State University

Department of Family & Consumer Sciences

Dr. Sherry Bachus, Secretary

Southern University at New Orleans

Child Development & Family Studies

Bronwyn Fees

Dr. Bronwyn Fees, Past Chair

Kansas State University

College of Health & Human Sciences

Valerie Giddings

Dr. Valerie Giddings, Collegiate Assembly

North Carolina A & T State University

Senior VP - Academic Affairs

Barbara Stewart

Dr. Barbara Stewart, Council for Accreditation

University of Houston

Department of Human Development & Consumer Sciences

Carol Anderson

Dr. Carol Anderson, Liaison

Director of Accreditation

Accreditation Program

AAFCS accreditation is a status granted to family and consumer sciences units within colleges and universities that meet or exceed standards established by the AAFCS Council for Accreditation. The AAFCS Council for Accreditation has accredited many family and consumer sciences programs across the United States.